Conservatoires

Mechthild Karkow has been professor of baroque violin at the Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy University of Music and Theatre Leipzig since 2013. For more information about the university, its early music faculty and courses please visit www.hmt-leipzig.de.
Dates of evening recitals by members of Professor Mechthild Karkow's baroque violin/viola class and numerous concerts by the early music department can be found at www.hmt-leipzig.de/hmt/veranstaltungen.

Since 2015 Mechthild has also been teaching baroque violin and viola on the period performance course at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Frankfurt am Main. Further information about this course of study can be found at www.hfmdk-frankfurt.info.

Masterclasses

Mechthild Karkow is in demand as a tutor for baroque violin, chamber music, period performance and improvisation.
In recent years Mechthild Karkow has given masterclasses at the Sommerakademie Kloster Michaelstein, the Vielklangsommer Tübingen Festival, and as part of the Barockwoche 2014 at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts.

Diary 2017:

February 23rd – March 1st
Baroque Masterclass, Musikakademie Schloss Weikersheim
www.barockmeisterkurs.com

July 17th – 21st
German-Chinese Baroque Academy, International Baroque Festival Mainz

July 23rd – 29th
International Masterclasses Baroque in the closter Gaming, Austria
www.international-masterclasses-gaming.com

Preview 2018:

July 22nd – 28th
International Masterclasses Baroque in the closter Gaming, Austria
www.international-masterclasses-gaming.com

Research

For Mechthild Karkow, a significant aspect of period performance practice is individual research and analysis of sources.
She puts into practice various playing techniques and positions for the baroque violin and bow. Further areas of focus are the use of scordatura in the 17th century (with particular reference to Biber's Rosenkranz sonatas), the art of diminution and ornamentation in different styles, and period improvisation practice on the violin.
She has recently given lectures at study weeks and conferences at Leipzig, Lyon and Weimar conservatoires on such topics as the performance and improvisation of double cadenzas in 18th century trio sonatas, improvisation based on baroque schemata and partimenti, and 'Cadence improvisation as a link between music theory and performance practice'.

Feldenkrais

As if music were not enough, Mechthild has trained in the Feldenkrais Method, begun out of personal curiosity and intensified by her enthusiasm for discovering new things. A valuable experience for her own violin playing, it also enriches her teaching, both through an understanding of the functional relationship between physical movements, and the analysis of organic learning and neuroplasticity.

Hochschule

Mechthild Karkow ist seit 2013 Professorin für Barockvioline an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater „Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy“ Leipzig.
Nähere Informationen zur Hochschule, zum Fachbereich Alte Musik und zum Studium unter www.hmt-leipzig.de.
Termine der Vortragsabende Barockvioline / Barockviola, Klasse Prof. Mechthild Karkow, sowie zahlreiche Konzerte der Fachrichtung Alte Musik sind unter www.hmt-leipzig.de/hmt/veranstaltungen zu finden.

Zusätzlich unterrichtet Mechthild Karkow seit 2015 Barockvioline und Barockviola im Studiengang „Historische Interpretationspraxis (HIP)“ an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main. Weitere Information zum Studium unter www.hfmdk-frankfurt.info.

Meisterkurse

Mechthild Karkow ist eine gefragte Dozentin für Barockvioline, Kammermusik, historische Aufführungspraxis und Improvisation.
In den vergangenen Jahren hielt Mechthild Karkow Meisterkurse im Rahmen der Sommerakademie Kloster Michaelstein, beim Festival Vielklangsommer Tübingen sowie während der Barockwoche 2014 der HfMDK Frankfurt.

Termine 2017:

24. Februar – 1. März
Meisterkurs für Barockmusik, Musikakademie Schloss Weikersheim
www.barockmeisterkurs.com

17. – 21. Juli
Deutsch-Chinesische Barockakademie, Internationales Barockfestival Mainz

23. – 29. Juli
Internationale Meisterkurse Barock in der Kartause Gaming, Österreich
www.international-masterclasses-gaming.com

Vorschau 2018:

22. – 28. Juli
Internationale Meisterkurse Barock in der Kartause Gaming, Österreich
www.international-masterclasses-gaming.com

Forschung

Zu der Beschäftigung mit historischer Aufführungspraxis gehört für Mechthild Karkow wesentlich die Auseinandersetzung mit Quellen und eigene Forschungsarbeit.
Neben der praktischen Umsetzung verschiedener Spieltechniken und Haltungen von Barockvioline und Bogen sind thematische Schwerpunkte bisher die Verwendung von Violinskordatur im 17. Jahrhundert (unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Rosenkranz-Sonaten von H.I.F. Biber), die Kunst des Diminuierens und Verzierens in verschiedenen Stilen sowie historische Improvisationspraxis auf der Violine.
In jüngster Zeit hielt sie Vorträge während Studienwochen und Tagungen an den Musikhochschulen Leipzig, Lyon und Weimar zu Themen wie der Ausführung und Improvisation von Doppelkadenzen in Triosonaten des 18. Jahrhunderts, Improvisation über barocke Satzmodelle und Partimenti, „Kadenzimprovisation als Verbindung von Musiktheorie und Aufführungspraxis“.

Feldenkrais

Als ob die Musik alleine noch nicht genügen würde, angefangen aus persönlicher Neugier und intensiviert durch ihre Begeisterung, Neues zu entdecken, machte Mechthild Karkow eine Ausbildung in der Feldenkrais-Methode. Neben wertvollen Erfahrungen für das eigene Violinspiel bereichert es ihren Blick beim Unterrichten durch das Verständnis funktionaler Bewegungszusammenhänge und durch die Auseinandersetzung mit organischem Lernen und Neuroplastizität.